+ Post New Thread
Windows Server 2000/2003 Thread, Domain Information Visualisation Project in Technical; Greetings! I'm in my final year at University (Nottingham Trent , In the UK) and i'm doing a project about ...

Thank Post

Domain Information Visualisation Project

Greetings!

I'm in my final year at University (Nottingham Trent , In the UK) and i'm doing a project about displaying useful information for system administrators about the domain system. As part of my research I need to identify issues that system administrators have in their environment that oculd be solved by the collection of information about the domain(s) and then compiled in the form of a visual diagram or interface. I'd really appreciate any input that anyone might have about their issues.

One suggestion from one of my colleagues in the system administration field suggested a system which pings all the machiens on the domain and keeps track of them, and then alerts you if they can't be for a certain peroid.

Thanks!

Edit: Sorry just to confirm, i'm looking for problems that system administrators have with their domain systems. Thanks
    Last edited by Duresthar; 20th November 2009 at 08:39 PM.

Thank Post
    Thanked 1,715 Times in 1,526 Posts
    Good idea but it's been done in many forms including nagios and also smart monitor by our own ozan

Thank Post
    Thanked 1,214 Times in 761 Posts
    Also WhatsUp - and these are all systems you should look at when reviewing other systems currently on the market, which I assume is something required in the early stage of your project. I actually did a not dissimilar project in my final year at uni.

That it's been done before doesn't mean it's not a valid project. The trick is to produce something novel, or that reproduces some existing approach in a novel way.

Things to think about:

• How could an admin quickly find which of the 500 workstations a particular user is currently logged on to?