+ Post New Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Windows Server 2000/2003 Thread, Input please in Technical; Hello, I am currently working at a small primary school (bout 100 computers), however over the last few years it ...
    Thank Post

Input please

Hello,

I am currently working at a small primary school (bout 100 computers), however over the last few years it has grown with repect to number of computers equipment etc etc...
    I am a bit of a noob when it comes to servers, I have basic knowledge and learn as I go along really. However I am now thinking about upgrading our current server... It is basically a PC, windows server 2003, pentium 4 2.80ghz processor, with only 512mb of ram and a 120gb hard drive... not even a gig link to the comms cabinet.... I think its terrible.

Any thoughts on what I should be looking for or upgrading to welcomed and greatly appreciated.

Thank you
    Last edited by neon; 28th October 2009 at 09:03 AM.

Thank Post
    The underlying machine could well be up to the task set - how many PCs are you running on the network? I'd always have at least 1GB of RAM with Server 2003, and with any server I'd be using RAID for peace of mind. So, I'd look at a memory upgrade (should be cheap!), and a pair of matching hard drives with a RAID card or an onboard RAID solution that may be adequate. Can you not put in a run of cable for a Gb link for comms?

Thank Post
    The server is right next to the comms cabinet but no on board gig lan card... Got about 100 computers and no-one has said anyhting to me about the server being old or slow so nothing has been done, I just thought it was important and I needed to look at it so Im getting some ideas
    How would you go about setting up a RAID arrangment with the server already up and running? Sorry for newbie question but can I just copy across the hard drive onto one of the 2 raid arranged hard drives?

Thank Post