+ Post New Thread
Windows Server 2000/2003 Thread, Trusting domains for a federation in Technical; Hi, My school was recently federated, and as such I have been asked to give the teachers the ability to ...

Thank Post

Exclamation Trusting domains for a federation

Hi,

My school was recently federated, and as such I have been asked to give the teachers the ability to log on to both schools with the same username and password and with the same Home area and shared drives.

We are a kent school and both schools are using the same Internet service provided by EIS. As such, the easiest and least expensive way to link the schools was to open up the ports between both schools. I am now able to remotely log on to their servers and vice versa.

This is where things get shakey. I thought the best way to give the teachers what they need was to set up domain trusts (which I have never done before) and then give them the option of which domain to login to on the logon page. I believe I have set up the domain trusts OK. In My schools DNS I can see the federated school and vice versa. When you get to a logon screen here you have the option of which domain to log on to. SO I choose the other schools domain and used a username and password from their domain, but when I do this I get the error message "The system cannot log you on now because the domain <DOMAIN NAME> is not available".

COuld anyone point me in the right direction with this? I'm convinced that I'm either going about this whole thing the wrong way, or I've made some small error in the setup.

Thanks,

Thank Post
    There needs to be a two way trust between the domains (I seem to recall that Microsoft call it something else now, but that's effectively what it is)