+ Post New Thread
Windows Server 2000/2003 Thread, Folder Redirection Blunder in Technical; I just came to the realization that my backup wasnt working correctly. I looked to see why and have figured ...

Thank Post

Folder Redirection Blunder

I just came to the realization that my backup wasnt working correctly. I looked to see why and have figured out that I made what I consider a big mistake when I setup folder redirection. I failed to uncheck the "give user exclusive rights" option and now as an administrator I am unable to go in and backup the files.

I just unticked the option in group policy. However, will this fix this issue? The only other way I can think to fix it is to go into each users folder and take ownership on their my documents and desktop folder and then give them full control. I just hate to think about doing this 600 times.....

Is there an easier way I am missing?

Thanks
    Chad

Thank Post
    Check this script if you do a search on the forums you will find plenty , Although personally i've always used excel and batch scripts to do this. this is plenty of chat about it on forums though

Reset the file permissions on homedrives

Thank Post
    You can use NTFSFix from Wisesoft: http://www.wisesoft.co.uk/software/ntfsfix/default.aspx. Excellent tool and free too - just remember it needs to run on the server itself...

4. Thanks to Netman from:

speckytecky (20th April 2009)

Thank Post
    I appreciate the replies and really like the NTFSFix program.

However, here is the problem. I do not have rights to the folders. I can get into the named folders, but not the "My Documents" or "Desktop" folders inside of it.