+ Post New Thread
Windows Server 2000/2003 Thread, Complete Newbie with server 2003 in Technical; Hi, I as you can see a complete newbie with server 2003 and i'm I have nevertheless installed it for ...

Thank Post

Complete Newbie with server 2003

Hi,

I as you can see a complete newbie with server 2003 and i'm I have nevertheless installed it for a family members business what needs to happen is I need to create a group policy so then all of the users can't right click, change wallpapers, run their own .exe files, standard old task bar etc. However 'the boss' of the company would like to be able to do these things and have no limits on his account. So how would I have two separate group policies for the users i.e the staff and the manager?

Also how would I use 'remote programs' I think it's called so then the staff's pc get the programs off the server?

Thanks

Chris

Thank Post
    Thanked 2,749 Times in 2,322 Posts
    Blog Entries
    The group policy one is simple enough, you just need to make new OUs (Organisational Units/Folders) in Active Directory users and computers under where your users are. You then have a different Group policy for each of the OUs and just put your users in whichever OU that has the policy required.

Remote Applications is a Windows 2008 technology so if you have 2003 is is not avalible to you. There is terminal services/remote desktop which involves controlling a whole windows session on the server but you will need a bunch more liscences of Microsoft to offer this and a much more complicated setup for the users.