+ Post New Thread
Windows Server 2000/2003 Thread, New to Windows Server 2003 in Technical; Good morning, I was wondering if people on here could help me out. I am relatively new to Windows Server ...

Thank Post

New to Windows Server 2003

Good morning,

I was wondering if people on here could help me out.

I am relatively new to Windows Server 2003, and was wondering if people could advise some good reads to get myself up to speed on Windows Server 2003. IE, group policy work, Profiles, Assigning IP's that kinda thing.

The school where I work have a windows server 2003 in place which is running well, but I have just got access to work on it directly (previously ran by Local Council).

Also if possible very quickly could someone explain how to assign a specific IP to a device, got a couple of access points that I wanted to get installed to a couple of areas that are suffering majorly without Wi-Fi.

Thank you in advance and I know this is the kind of question where knowledge is learned over time with experience, however I need to make sure I am heading in the right direction.

Many thanks.

Thank Post
    hi, i would recommend mark minasi's mastering windows server 2003 book its massive but covers alot.
    for the specific IP address for devices you could assign a static address on the device in the access points web management tool.

or a better way from a management point of view would be to assing a reservation in your DHCP scope (you will need the mac address of the accesspoints lan point)
    there is the add reservation option in the dhcp manager under admin tools from the start menu.

Thank Post
    or a better way from a management point of view would be to assing a reservation in your DHCP scope (you will need the mac address of the accesspoints lan point)
    there is the add reservation option in the dhcp manager under admin tools from the start menu.