+ Post New Thread
Windows 7 Thread, Can't connect to Printer(s) in Technical; Hi all, Title might be a bit misleading but I'll try and explain this as best as I can! I'm ...
    Thank Post

Can't connect to Printer(s)

Hi all,

Title might be a bit misleading but I'll try and explain this as best as I can! I'm still new to getting involved with networks (College course had a 2-month unit on networks, which involved our lecturer talking about wavelengths and planets. Good times.) so I may be a bit rubbish at making sense of this!

We've just setup our new laptop trolley with Windows 7, however we're still on an XP/2003 network. Due to the printer being a fairly old one now (HP CP2025) we couldn't seem to get the Windows 7 drivers to load on our server. We took one of the PC's from our Suite and set that up with Windows 7 on the domain as a print server for the laptops. They installed fine when we setup the image on each laptop and finished setting them up. However, our Students can't connect to the printers. They can connect to the PC (Run -> \\PCNAME) just fine but when we attempt to add them we get a "0x000005" error - when I try running a PrintUI script, it asks for credentials - I type them in correctly, and I get a "0x0000052e" error. It's one printer, but two 'devices' - MonoLaserJet & ColourLaserJet. We're a small Primary School, hence the need for only one printer!