+ Post New Thread
Windows 7 Thread, Windows 7 Thin Client in Technical; Hi. To try and get some more life out of some older laptops we are looking at a Windows 7 ...

Thank Post

Windows 7 Thin Client

Hi.

To try and get some more life out of some older laptops we are looking at a Windows 7 Thin Client. Has anyone had any experience of this? Especially over wireless.

Thank Post
    I am interested in this also..

Thank Post
    I am interested in this also...

Thank Post
    Blog Entries
    Shameless plug here (Im a Systems Manager before anyone hits Report Post :-p)... doing this at the moment with Windows Thin PC, which is Windows 7 cut down to use as a Thin client. Posts on my blog about setting it up with RDP.

Thank Post
    I use XP as thin client as it's lighter on resources. Pretty easy to setup either way, this works for 7 as well. Set your windows thin client up with 1 admin user, no password, off domain so it automatically logs in or some other auto-login method if you prefer to secure it with a password. Make your rdp file and then make this small VBS script:

Option Explicit
    'On Error Resume Next

Dim objShell

Set objShell = CreateObject("WScript.Shell")

Do
    If (objShell.AppActivate("Remote Desktop") = False) Then
    objShell.Run "mstsc.exe c:\default.rdp"
    WScript.Sleep 5000
    Else
    WScript.Sleep 3000
    End If
    Loop
    This script assumes your placing your rdp file default.rdp in C:\, edit as appropriate. Then you need to:

run regedit
    HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\Winlogon

Change shell string to:

wscript <your .VBS path>