+ Post New Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Windows 7 Thread, Windows 7 sysprep - argh! in Technical; Well thats just great. Spent a week setting up a nice Windows 7 image to dump onto our WDS server ...

Thank Post

Windows 7 sysprep - argh!

Well thats just great. Spent a week setting up a nice Windows 7 image to dump onto our WDS server so we can deploy it this summer and as soon as I run sysprep I get the 'a fatal error has occured sysprep cannot continue'

No my nicely prepared 'donor' pc is useless, cannot login to the domain, cannot logon locally and I'm going to have to start all over.

Argh!

Thank Post
    Sorry, I'm no deployment expert but I didn't think you had to sysprep a vista (thus Win7 machine) as the operating system is hardware agnostic? All you have to do is send an image to the wds using winpe.

I started this last month but got stuck so I'd be interested if you could ouline your process.

Thank Post
    You still have to run the W7 version of sysprep (installed by default) to generalize it before you deploy it

You're right though - one image is hardware independant, this image was a generic 'classroom' image

Thank Post
    Thanked 2,742 Times in 2,316 Posts
    Blog Entries
    I have found the best way to do a true hardware independent image is to do the template in a virtual machine so no dodgey drivers can stuff it up (intel :angry. You can then just snapshot it before you run sysprep for easy rollback and editing, updating etc later.

Remember you only get three syspreps with Vista/7 and yes you need to sysprep with generalize ticked to make it hardware non-specific.

5. Thanks to SYNACK from:

cookie_monster (16th March 2010)

Thank Post
    Actually that is not true... You can sysprep more than 3 times as long as the product is activated when you sysprep.

Thank Post