+ Post New Thread
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Windows 7 Thread, How do "you" set up your windows 7 machines? in Technical; Hi all, I've been using Win7 at home for a few months now and am loving it. So much so, ...
    Thank Post

How do "you" set up your windows 7 machines?

Hi all,

I've been using Win7 at home for a few months now and am loving it. So much so, that I'm considering upgrading a few of the computer suites here over the summer.

I've loaded a VM with Windows 7 so I can play around with it sitting on our domain.

What I'm looking for from you kind folk is help/suggestions/advice/tips on how you set up your Win7 machines prior to system cloning.

I've already changed the printer setup from a vbs login script, to "deployed printers" in Active Directory, which seems to work flawlessly (so far). What I need advice on is the finer details that often get overlooked until it's too late.
    Things like:

How you handle the potential of 100s of users (with regard to profiles)? In XP I set up a users profile, then when I'm happy with it I copy it to the "Default User" profile and every user that logs on to the pc has a local profile created using the Default User as a template.

Do you lock down your Start Menus and Desktops - how do you populate these with the appropriate shortcuts?

How do you handle Libraries - do you redirect the "Documents" library to a Users home directory on the network?

Do you have custom default User Icons, Wallpapers, Login Screens that apply to all users or groups of users?

Do you "Pin" applications to the Start Menus and/or Taskbar for all users?

Anything else?

Cheers for your feedback team!

Oh, I ashamed to say our Active Directory is running on a Win2000 but has been adprep'd to Win2003.

Thank Post
    The first thing I've noticed is the Adobe Reader 9.3 doesn't work!

Thank Post
    Quote Originally Posted by machin05 View Post
    The first thing I've noticed is the Adobe Reader 9.3 doesn't work!