+ Post New Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Windows 7 Thread, Fed up of 'Deploying printer settings' in Technical; I'm a fairly newbie Technician so sorry if I don't make sense. We have a problem in our school with ...

Thank Post

Fed up of 'Deploying printer settings'

I'm a fairly newbie Technician so sorry if I don't make sense.
    We have a problem in our school with some pc start-ups. (I might have made a similar thread and I know there is lots of this about).

When pc's in suites are soft shutdown properly, the problem doesn't exist.

When a pc is hard shutdown (eg. Off at the plug), on boot the pc will display 'deploying printer settings' for nearly ten minutes before a user logs on. This appears in system logs too. It's destroyed a few lessons and happens in most rooms with different machines. Interestingly a room full of pc's with a printer won't do it, but another room with an identical printer will!
    I've tried multiple hot fixes, updated switches, loading local print drivers but to no avail.
    Any things I can try? Thanks!

Thank Post
    How do you deploy printer settings on your network? Is it an xps network or windows 7 based? Are printers through a central server or local?

Thank Post
    It's a server 2008 r2 based vanilla win 7 network. The printers are deployed via group policy. Not sure of the difference between centrally and locally? I'm new to this remember.

Thank Post
    Are you using HP universal drivers ?

Thank Post
    No the printers are Ricoh.

Thank Post
    Presumably gpp. Are permissions setup correctly for users? I'm assuming printers are depoyed per machine. Their are also hotfixes for gpp which may need to be depoyed. You need to isolate a pc with the iasue. Try manually adding the printer and see what happens.

Thank Post
    They should be. The thing is it happens before a user even gets near a machine so the printers are deployed on machine level. I've even tried loading a driver locally.