+ Post New Thread
Windows 7 Thread, Deploying an .EXE across the network using GPO, can it be done? in Technical; Hi there, I've Googled the hell out of this topic but can't seem to find a solution (I'm fairly new ...

Thank Post

Question Deploying an .EXE across the network using GPO, can it be done?

Hi there,

I've Googled the hell out of this topic but can't seem to find a solution (I'm fairly new to ICT so please bare with me). I need to install an .EXE setup to approximately 200 machines, it's for MIT App Inventor (installation .exe). I clutched at straws and tried to give it an .MSI wrapper but of course no luck.

Is there a way I can deploy this software in an .EXE format without physically installing it on individual machines?

Many thanks for your help.

Thank Post
    You can create your own MSI wrapper for an EXE http://http://stackoverflow.com/ques...ps-an-exe-file, this link has a good discussion about the various alternatives.

Thank Post
    We've used GPO to deploy a script which has then fired off the EXE file... Thats how we deploy Office 2010.

Thank Post
    Hi dfinan,
    I do this as follows:

Download a program called "CPAU.EXE". It doesn't need installing. Just save it in a network share. In your NETLOGON share you may have a .bat file which allocates shared drives etc. Add this to that file, or create a file for it.

if exist "C:\Program Files\MyProgramFolder" goto :eof
    "\\MyServer\MyShare\cpau.exe" -u domain\administrator -p password -ex "\\MyServer\Path-to-the-exe-file\MyProgram.exe /s" -lwp -cwd

Assuming: MyProgramFolder is the folder created when the .exe is actually installed (Install it manually to find out what this is)
    MyServer is, of course, the name of your server
    MyShare is the shared folder where CPAU.EXE lives
    domain is your domain name
    password is the administrator password
    Path-to-the-exe-file is erm the path to the exe file stored on the server
    MyProgram.exe is the exe file you wish to install