+ Post New Thread
Web Development Thread, Would like to learn VBS in Coding and Web Development; Hi, I would like to learn how to write vbs programs so i can automate tasks etc on servers and ...

Thank Post

Would like to learn VBS

Hi,

I would like to learn how to write vbs programs so i can automate tasks etc on servers and workstations. I have little programing experience, wrote the odd bat file but thats about it.

Does any one know of a good book that could help get me started, or know of any free learning material on the web?

cheers

Thank Post

Re: Would like to learn VBS

for dummies is always a good place to start i find, and always great for a reference once your past the dummy stage.

Thank Post

will take a look, thank you

Thank Post

Thank Post

Personally I wouldn't bother learning VBS now, it's been superceded by PowerShell, and will be the foundation scripting lang, command line, and basis for future MS OS's & server apps, as well as working with current versions. Might as well learn the latest stuff.

I'd recommend Don Jones's 'Windows PowerShell: TFM' http://www.amazon.co.uk/Windows-Powe...3984272&sr=8-7

If you really want to go down the VBS route though - try http://www.amazon.co.uk/Microsoft-VB...3984484&sr=8-2

Hope that's of some use!

Thank Post

I prefer this

And the dummies books are useless in my opinion. The SAM books are slightly better, but still far to basic.

Thank Post

hey guys sorry late responce

yeh i think the dummies books are rubbish and aint the money.

as im also studying towards the mcse 2003, i figured it would be a good idea to learn VBScript.

will windows power shell run on server 2003 and xp?

Thank Post

looks like it does, just been flicking through MS website

Thank Post

I prefer AutoIT for automations i found it far easier to learn and comes with its own compiler

Thank Post

Quote Originally Posted by Diello