+ Post New Thread
Web Development Thread, ideas for developing school website in Coding and Web Development; Hi I am a part time web designer and have been asked to develop a seconday school website here in ...

Thank Post

ideas for developing school website

Hi
    I am a part time web designer and have been asked to develop a seconday school website here in Ireland. I have decided to use Joomla for this project and this should be fine to develop and design the site and allow maybe 2 or 3 trusted administrators update and edit the content. I have already played around with developing my own template and its all working fine and validating xhtml and css.
    Aside from allowing main administrators log on and do their thing i am looking for ideas on how to get students to log on - say for example to blog or to have a forum to buy and sell books. I have looked at forum extensions and they seem ok to implement but what i am unsure of is how to allow students to log on and restrict topics in say a forum. Do i have to create profiles for each student or do i allow them to register themselves? Basically for my example of selling books or restricting topics on a forum what would be the most straight forward way of implementing these? Any ideas?
    Also regarding school email with new domain name - do i have to create an account for each student or allow them to create their own? Can they log into their email account in Joomla or as a link to the hosting provider or through outlook?
    Sorry about all the questions at once - am just trying to get a clear picture of what i can and can't do!
    Last edited by katuxa; 19th November 2010 at 01:52 AM. Reason: tags

Thank Post
    Joomla doesn't have (at the moment) very good user control unless you play with additional modules - you basically have admins then editors (upload and change any article) and then joe public that can just read.