+ Post New Thread
Web Development Thread, Intranet - nice and simple?? in Coding and Web Development; Hi guys, hopefully someone can confirm what I'm gonna do will work (or is the best way to do things)? ...
    JPS
    Thank Post

Intranet - nice and simple??

Hi guys, hopefully someone can confirm what I'm gonna do will work (or is the best way to do things)?

I am new to my school. They dont have an intranet currently and I have been set tasks that could be solved by the implementation of an intranet.

Long term I think our VLE (when we get it....) will supercede this but as an interim solution I think this is the best direction to go in.

Technically I think this is all I need:
    1. Set up IIS on a server (dont think it matters which one?)
    2. Create the page(s) either using Dreamweaver/Frontpage or even just code it in html
    3. Save the pages on the server in a folder that IIS is set to point to.
    4. Set users homepage to the intranet site (usually http://intranet I believe) via GP

Any corrections to my assumptions or advice on how to improve would be gratefully received.

Thank Post
    Hi James, you had a look at ms sharepoint?

JPS
    Thank Post
    To be honest no. I was under the impression there was costs involved and quite a learning curve for someone who has never touched such thing before?? Please correct me though.

Thank Post
    that list sounds about right, personally ive never used IIS to host websites Apache isnt that hard to setup (although ive never tried to install it on Windows)

http://intranet should work but ive had some problem with resolving it, http://intranet.domain.local should allways work.

Thank Post
    IIS is used here along with a single page (garish and child friendly picture with an image map) works really well for kids.

Thank Post
    Sharepoint Services 3.0 is easy to pick up and free!

Thank Post
    Thanked 1,323 Times in 812 Posts
    Blog Entries