+ Post New Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Web Development Thread, new to web design - what should i use?? in Coding and Web Development; Hello hello, This is quite a broad question, so apologies if I'm asking a lot of you all. The primary ...

Thank Post

new to web design - what should i use??

Hello hello,

This is quite a broad question, so apologies if I'm asking a lot of you all. The primary school I work in does not currently have a website, and I have been tasked with researching possible solutions. My experience with web design is limited, I have a basic knowledge of html and css and can make fairly simple websites using notepad (i didn't like dreamweaver). I am also pretty competent with photoshop, and to some extent illustrator. This is pretty much as far as my experience goes - I have no experience with php, mysql, or any content management systems, or basically anything else to do with web design.

And so to my question...what would the members here recommend using? I am perfectly willing to put the time in and learn, but am unsure about which will be the best solution. I think that the headteacher used a cms called schooljotter at his last school (he has just started here) which seems to have a fair amount of useful stuff for schools, but I gather that this isn't free, and the sites I have seen that use it IMO look a bit rubbish.

At the moment I am swaying towards using Joomla, especially since the Edugeek template seems to simplify the design a lot, and I have figured out how to edit it as well.

One of the main requirements is that certain members of staff (the more technically minded) will be able to update the site, not just myself, so the cms needs to be fairly straightforward with a little instruction.

Also any advice on hosting would be appreciated, for instance is it possible to get the council/LEA to host it, or possibly our closest CLC, or will we need to go through a private company.