+ Post New Thread
Web Development Thread, Setting up a new website - advice needed in Coding and Web Development; I am a school librarian and have created a number of sites in the past using Frontpage, then Dreamweaver. I ...
    Thank Post

Setting up a new website - advice needed

I am a school librarian and have created a number of sites in the past using Frontpage, then Dreamweaver. I have also done a lot with our VLE, Kaleidos, to make the library sections look interesting. Now, I am about to start a new job, the library is very old and will be re-furbished next year. In the meantime, I will have to run a web-based service and I really want to wow the students and staff with a really dynamic website.

What I am asking is advice as to how I should best do this. I will be working alone, with no clerical support, so I will not have a lot of time. The Dreamweaver ftp idea takes up too much time. So, I have thought of using something like Wordpress. I have played around with it on a free version. If I go down this route, what would be the best hosting package?

I have read a lot on this forum about your Joomla! package and it looks really great. But I am not sure that I have the technical ability to go with this idea.

I would really appreciate some advice, Anne

Thank Post

Smile

There's loads of packages out there!

Cpanel has a extra that most hosts have which auto installs stuff like wordpress, the only problem is that you need to patch it.

Not that wordpress is hard to install. I would spend time looking at stuff like phpnuke, wordpress, jooma, mambo etc, decide which one does what you want, which ones you can easy use.

I've in the passed had websites hosted on dedi servers, clusters, some vps, oversold cpanel resellers package. I would recommend keeping things simple. Go get a package with a big player. At least when you pay for year, you know they'll be there a year later.