+ Post New Thread
Web Development Thread, Moodle or not to Moodle in Coding and Web Development; We have various systems inplace that allow things like room booking, access from home, shared areas, forums etc. These have ...
    Thank Post

Moodle or not to Moodle

We have various systems inplace that allow things like room booking, access from home, shared areas, forums etc. These have built up over time and are working fine.

However, I'm thinking it may be time to make all these tools & resources available from one place on an intranet.

Moodle or Sharepoint are looking like the way to go, but I have no experience of either.

Anyone got any comments on either system, such as eases of setup, ease of use for both admin and users.
    What do you use it for? ie what facilities are available etc.

Sharepoint I could probably run from one of my existing servers as with moodle. I also have an old server that ran NT4 stored in the depths of my storeroom (Can't remember the specs), Would moodle run happily on that?

I'm new to both these technologies so when replying speak slowly and don't use words of more than 2 sylables.

Thank Post
    Thanked 1,774 Times in 1,101 Posts
    Blog Entries

Re: Moodle or not to Moodle

Being honest ... and as unbiased as I can ... I would seriously recommend that not only do you look at various school sites that have been set up with either of these ... but actually visit the school to see how they are being used.

There are obviously technical differences ... but it is how they are used that is key.

Thank Post
    Blog Entries

Well the current way things are heading here at the moment are:

MRBS for room booking.
    Moodle for VLE stuff (accessable externally too).

On the ToDo list is:

Some sort of CMS for the main school Intranet/Website. Probably Joomla/Mambo/etc.
    Squirrelmail for email for kids. OWA for staff.