+ Post New Thread
Web Development Thread, Website Hosting (Websys Hosting) in Coding and Web Development; Hi all, This is both an advert and an information gathering thread... I am currently working as an ICT Technician ...

Thank Post

Website Hosting (Websys Hosting)

Hi all,

This is both an advert and an information gathering thread...

I am currently working as an ICT Technician in schools aroud Wolverhampton, but am also a manager at Websys Hosting (http://www.websyshosting.co.uk).

I'm looking for information on what types of hosting services/packages you currently have and/or you currently require (asp, php, database, etc,) so that I may put a package together for schools. This will allow me to provide a hosting package to schools, incorporating all the services they/you require at an affordable price.

As I also work as a technician in schools, I understand that sometimes you dont need all the bells and whistles and other times you do.

Please give me some feedback on this and i'll see what I can come up with.

Thanks,

Anton Martire
    ICT Technician / Websys Hosting Manager

Thank Post

Re: Website Hosting (Websys Hosting)

Probably the most useful tool you could offer schools is the ability to update the pages themselves without having to learn any scripting language. For example the use of Macromedia's Contribute 3.

Some will want a service that is outsourced 100% some would like a little control and others would prefer you to do all the creative work then maintain it themselves.

Point to note: some LEAs don't allow php to run via their servers.

Thank Post

Hi Alan, take a look at http://content.websyshosting.co.uk/ our content managed system.
    Users can login to this and manage all their own content in a friendly maner with no previous web design knowledge

Thank Post
    Blog Entries

Yep... Offer schools free CMS setup. We use Website Baker for our site.. but unfortunately our web host is running IIS

Thank Post