+ Post New Thread
Web Development Thread, Problem with external website (htaccess help) in Coding and Web Development; Hello, Forgive me for sounding stupid in this but I am fairly new to the whole website process. I have ...

Thank Post

Problem with external website (htaccess help)

Hello,

Forgive me for sounding stupid in this but I am fairly new to the whole website process. I have been given the task to make our website accessible when on-site and off-site.

I installed WAMP to host the website as I have had a number of problems with IIS. Once I had installed that, I took the .jpa backup from the current website which only works from off-site (I do not actually build the website, we have a member of staff that does this all using Joomla) and used the Kickstart.php tool to restore it. The restoration process went very smoothly and once restored and I activated "Put Online" then everything seemed to work.

I installed it all onto Windows server 2008 R2 called CCAWEB and so if I am on site and go to http:\\ccaweb I get the website fully working as shown in the image.Working website.png

But as soon as I put the website public to be accessed through http:\\Welcome to the Coundon Court Website it doesn't work as shown in the image not working webiste.jpg and all the links refer back to http:\\localhost

Another thing I have noticed is that it runs OK from mobile devices and tablets.

I have played around as much as I could and from reading forums etc. I think it may be an issue with using .htaccess or config.php? But as I am inexperienced I don't know where to start with these files. If you need any files of me then just say, I am pulling my hair out over this. Any help is much appreciated.

Ross.

Thank Post
    Your Website works fine for me, are you using the same machine to view your local and offsite address'?
    You say it works fine from mobile too. I would suggest the problems you are having are actually local.