+ Post New Thread
Web Development Thread, 'account creation/protection' & 'public areas' in Coding and Web Development; I'm a teacher (not IT) building a website for an independent school with 550 pupils. I'm using e107 CMS. I've ...

Thank Post

'account creation/protection' & 'public areas'

I'm a teacher (not IT) building a website for an independent school with 550 pupils. I'm using e107 CMS. I've got limited ICT skills compared to you guys; I can't write php scripts from scratch, but sometimes I can do small hacks to existing ones if I can figure out what they're doing. I don't know much at all about databases or queries though. So far I've muddled through without causing chaos, but I've got a few questions and would very much like to benefit from your expertise, bearing in mind that we do not have any LEA jurisdiction / guidance:

1/ Moderated website accounts -
    How do you guys manage your website membership? I'm thinking of allowing moderated sign-ups, so that when I receive an application I will manually check it against a list of pupils/parents, and create the account if they are on the list.

However, I'm aware that it might be possible to export the necessary portions of our access database (we don't use SIMS) to .csv format and import the data into the SQL database. Would this be very difficult? The main problem that comes to mind is how would I set-up and share their passwords?

I'm leaning toward the first proposal, because it means I only need to create the accounts for pro-active pupils/parents, rather than create 1000 accounts and only have 100 people use them regularly.

2/ Account protection and logging out -
    I don't like the idea of users logging-on from a shared computer, whether it be from a school network, internet cafe or at home. I can envisage that they'll leave themselves logged in, and the next user can maliciously post content under their identity.