+ Post New Thread
Web Development Thread, Embedded video in web page in Coding and Web Development; I've launched into a project that requires users to upload videos to a server (via PHP) on the LAN and ...

Thank Post

Embedded video in web page

I've launched into a project that requires users to upload videos to a server (via PHP) on the LAN and this server will not have access to the internet. The videos are .mts and I will use ffmpeg.exe (or similar) to convert them automatically to another format such as .mov, .mp4, .flv etc. There is a requirement at this stage to prevent users from downloading the videos to their local devices (though I realise the more adventurous will probably find a way to download them!) but they should be able to play them via a web browser. I have little experience of web design so this is a steep learning curve for me.

As far as I know, if I convert to a .mov, the client will have to have Quicktime installed and if I convert to a .swf or .flv, they will have to have Flash player installed. Ideally, I would like to have the video play without any specific software being installed on the client device.

I've looked into this and think that a .flv file can be played if an FLV Player is installed on the web server. I've seen several free players via google but don't know if I'm going about this in the right way. Should I have one of these installed on the web server and, if so, may I have recommendations? Is .flv the best format to use? The web package that I'm using is xampp which has Apache (with PHP, MySQL etc.) on Windows.

Does anyone have much experience of this sort of thing? The organisation is strapped for cash (who isn't?) and isn't an educational establishment. Ideally, I'd like to use reputable free software although there could be some cash available if a particularly useful licenced software package were available.

Thanks in advance.

Thank Post
    Thanked 2,615 Times in 1,926 Posts