+ Post New Thread
Virtual Learning Platforms Thread, Moodle Help! and a little Hello in Technical; Firstly hello, My name is Mike. i Work at st-paul's School In Leicester. (400 DT and 100ish LT, xp/vista/7, 2003 ...

Thank Post

Moodle Help! and a little Hello

Firstly hello, My name is Mike. i Work at st-paul's School In Leicester. (400 DT and 100ish LT, xp/vista/7, 2003 server/exchange) 10 MB provided by our great EMBC :s

I Have been Jr technician here for 3 years, I don't have an formal qualifications but I do love IT :~)
    Everything I know has been self taught or pick-up off my boss I am working towards my N+ done the A+ (found it is a bit pointless, feeling that the same maybe said for the N+).

Basically since I have been in this school i have help towards setting up buffalo Terastation And Vm. On which we have started running a few Linux based things catci, FOG and now Moodle.

Moodle is running on the VM with*checks* 2gb RAM, 2x 2GHZ and 60gb.

First question : is that enough? for 1000 students (not simultaneously)
    As EMBC would not provide us with a subdomain we had to improvise : using dydns to route our IP to a URL (shocking i know)
    and lastly

moodle3.jpg

Moodle.jpg

why does this happen with chrome IE and Firefox

Thankyou in advance

please be soft on me

Thank Post
    Thanked 1,889 Times in 1,170 Posts
    Blog Entries
    You can get a hostname added to your DNS with EMBC to point to your Moodle. It is not about setting up a sub domain but a Fully Qualified Domain Name for a host. All you need to do is ask for an A record to be set up to point to the public IP you have had allocated to that server. If you are not getting anywhere with the Servicedesk then speak to your LA as they are the best people to help advise you.

Thank Post
    Thanked 1,033 Times in 813 Posts
    Depends upon the number of concurrent users really:

Hardware
    Disk space: 160MB free (min). You will require more free space to store your teaching materials.