+ Post New Thread
Virtual Learning Platforms Thread, Selecting the right VLE in Technical; We are exploring alternative VLE's. Currently we have Uniservity and having looked at their new Life VLE have decided this ...

Thank Post

Selecting the right VLE

We are exploring alternative VLE's. Currently we have Uniservity and having looked at their new Life VLE have decided this is not the way we want to go.

We want a dashboard, single sign on, Sharepoint based system (we think) and have looked at Open Hive and Core Education's VLE both of which are impressive. Open Hive is a Cloud based system, the Core Education VLE would be hosted in house.

Does anyone have any experience and or view's to share?

A lot of you are very keen on Moodle, I have no experience of this and am put off because of what I perceive to be significant in house resource to manage this? Also not sure it would allow us to do everything we want to, ie dashboard, single sign on, Sharepoint doc management, web parts including links to Sims info etc., seemlessly.

Thanks

Thank Post
    Can I ask what you mean by dashboard?

Thank Post
    Something that looks a bit like iGoogle with a personalised dashboard, so uers can see their email, calendar, access applications, documents, resources etc, web parts, Sims etc from one place, dependant on permissions and with single sign on.

Thank Post
    Quote Originally Posted by ebarr View Post
    A lot of you are very keen on Moodle, I have no experience of this and am put off because of what I perceive to be significant in house resource to manage this?
    Then pay for external support - either a hosted solution or for someone external to manage your Moodle installation for you. It's likly to be a very similar price to any other paid-for solution but with no vendor lock-in - if you go for the latter option, it should be simple enough to switch contractors should you wish to.

Thank Post