+ Post New Thread
Virtual Learning Platforms Thread, Moodle to replace SIMS altogether? in Technical; With all the talk of SIMS-Moodle integration, my (perhaps ignorant) question is: Could Moodle replace SIMS altogether? Moodle = open ...

Thank Post

Moodle to replace SIMS altogether?

With all the talk of SIMS-Moodle integration, my (perhaps ignorant) question is: Could Moodle replace SIMS altogether?
    Moodle = open source therefore highly customisable and - importantly these days - free.
    If my experience of SIMS in school is anything to go by it serves a great function but in an ugly, drawn out, unnecessarily cumbersome way. Compare SIMS to a good quality website where everything is an intuitive and instant click or two away. I'm no expert on html but the likes of the bbc website seem to me to set a good example that pricey software like SIMS does not follow. Open source software on the other hand, has the potential to aim for this. But could it serve as a secure platform for educational monitoring? And if not, why not?

This is my first post so please go easy if my idea is fundamentally wrong!

Cheers

Thank Post
    The quick answer is no, but the thought about answer is maybe.

The main question to think about is do you want to go from one all-in-one MIS solution to a all-in-one solution MIS + moodle.
    I may be better to have many applications that fit together to create an all-in-one solution and if one part isn't good enough you can swap it out.

You would be able to edit the open source code but that would require the skills in house, the main question would be what would you do for support?

3. Thanks to penfold_99 from:

mus9jet (9th February 2011)

Thank Post
    Thanked 2,021 Times in 1,495 Posts
    The answer is, yes, BUT... and it's one enormous but.

Someone would need to develop all the features of SIMS on a the moodle platform... timetabling, MIS information, pupil records, ... It's no short list.