+ Post New Thread
Virtual Learning Platforms Thread, Moodle, stick all students to be enrolled in all courses, option vanished in V2 in Technical; Hi there, Im currently testing moodle as a possible alternative to fronter, with the eventual intention of replacing fronter and ...

Thank Post

Moodle, stick all students to be enrolled in all courses, option vanished in V2

Hi there, Im currently testing moodle as a possible alternative to fronter, with the eventual intention of replacing fronter and frontermail with moodle and zimbra possibly.

Anywhoo, I have moodle setup on a test box, LDAP import and userauth with AD is working fine however I have a couple of embarrasingly simple questions.

I basically want to by default, let ALL students access all courses with no enrolment options (Ie. they can click on a course, it lets them in to view/use it, no 'do you want to enrol or anything, just straight in), any courses which I would later create for staff only, id simply disable enrollment and auto assign staff.

Anyway in previous versions of moodle, doing the OPPOSITE of the below instructions would work.

'If the default role for all users in Site Administration > Users > Permissions > User policies is set to student rather than authenticated user (the default setting), this will result in all students being enrolled in all courses. '

Now seeing as im using version 2, when I goto 'Site Administration > Users > Permissions > User policies' , it is set as authenticated user but in the drop down there are no other options so I can't select Student.

Any ideas anyone?

Secondary, when creating a folder 'container' in a course, the file upload prompts me to download the repository_ajax.php file, rather than just upload my file. Im assuming this is a slight mis-config of php on the server, php itself in general is working ok, but is there any includes or apache extras I have to enable?

Any help will be most helpful!