+ Post New Thread
Virtual Learning Platforms Thread, Uniservity/School-portal help? in Technical; Hi, I'm working with the Head of a local primary school (volunteer, very part time as I have a day ...
    Thank Post

Uniservity/School-portal help?

Hi,

I'm working with the Head of a local primary school (volunteer, very part time as I have a day job).

East Sussex rolled out Uniservity to all the schools and our Head's been trying very hard to use it.

I should add at this point, I'm a Linux Sysadmin and when I do websites, it's hand coded XHTML/CSS on top of perl/Mason so I'm quite comfortable with raw web stuff. I'm also fine with Wiki type platforms.

I have to say, given the above, Uniservity has been doing my head in (as well as the Head's head).

Some core concepts make sense - eg permissions via user sets. some other concepts make a lot less sense, eg "groups and sub groups" and resources.

Linking stuff together (eg a movie into a page) seems very broken.

Either I'm missing something or it is a horrible platform.

Is this a good place to ask for some help - or is there a Uniservity specific forum somewhere (I did google)? I'd like to go through a few basic procedures and see if there are better ways of doing things such as uploading photos and slideshows and sticking them into pages.

=========

On an aside, if I had more time, I'd suggest he ditched it and I'd run something more suitable as all he really needs is a very simple CMS type site. But it wouldn't be fair to offer a half-****ed solution and not be able to support it properly. It's also a *tiny* school and I'm not sure the budget would stretch to paying for say moodle hosting.

Sadly I don't (yet) have a nice 1U server racked up in a datacentre otherwise I would host something - our village website runs off a Shuttle in my hall - not really solid enough for this job...

So we're probably stuck with making the best of a bad job for now...

Many thanks in advance,

Tim

Thank Post