+ Post New Thread
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Virtual Learning Platforms Thread, Moving Moodle! in Technical; Two Part Question: 1) We have set up Moodle using the 'simple' install and all is fine BUT we have ...

Thank Post
    Thanked 2,310 Times in 1,624 Posts

Moving Moodle!

Two Part Question:

1) We have set up Moodle using the 'simple' install and all is fine BUT we have been advised that we need to move it to IIS instead of Apache? (please don't shoot me if this is wrong - I am very new to this!)
    Can we do this easily? If so, are there instructions anywhere?

2) We are having a new server over the summer - Server 2008 (64 bit) and we would like to move the Moodle content over to it. Is this possible? If so, how? Exactly what do we move?

All help gratefully received.

Thank Post
    Thanked 1,032 Times in 812 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by witch View Post
    1) We have set up Moodle using the 'simple' install and all is fine BUT we have been advised that we need to move it to IIS instead of Apache? (please don't shoot me if this is wrong - I am very new to this!)
    this is wrong. Moodle is much better supported on Linux/apache than it is on windows/iis. go look at the moodle forums.

2) We are having a new server over the summer - Server 2008 (64 bit) and we would like to move the Moodle content over to it. Is this possible? If so, how? Exactly what do we move?

should be quite easy, dump the mssql database. copy the files over, re-import the database.

Moodle migration - MoodleDocs

3. Thanks to CyberNerd from:

witch (25th June 2009)

Thank Post
    Whats the reason for that? I thought Moodle was happier with an Apache webserver :s

Beaten
    I = much to slow lol

Thank Post
    Can we do this easily? If so, are there instructions anywhere?
    Who ever advised you to move to IIS can i take them outside and shoot them?

I would move to a linux (centos or Redhat) box instead of a windows server, in the long term you will have more flexibility.