+ Post New Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Virtual Learning Platforms Thread, VLE WAGE in Technical; I work in a school as a technician and have been asked to create the VLE but have not been ...

Thank Post

VLE WAGE

I work in a school as a technician and have been asked to create the VLE but have not been offered any money. Have any other technicians that are doing the vle been given a raise??

Thank Post

create?

What do you mean by 'create'? Start from scratch? Or install, such as Moodle, or adminstrate, such as a commercial one?

Thank Post
    Lol they own you inbetween 8.30 - 5, why should you get a raise for doing work.

I manage the VLE + stupid we-learn portal + 2 websites (soon to add 2 or 3 more) + the booking system + a butt load of wordpress blogs i keep a eye on, and im still on a 12k a year wage. Oh and thats on top of the helpdesk (that I made) and the usual duties.

So to repeat the question, do i deserve a raise for doing work?

P.S unless they intend to sell it, but even then intellectual property (the school owns what you do when working) and all that.

P.S.S sorry to be short but im a strong beleaver in working at full pace/abilities regardless of your wage/position/contract
    Last edited by mossj; 27th January 2009 at 11:01 PM. Reason: added the sorry :)

Thank Post
    lol

Ur being taken for a ride then!! Is it in ur contract to do all that???

Cause it aint in mine, thats why i asked the question!

U ask round other schools, they have got people in from outside and if not paid exisiting staff to do it!

Be using Kaleidos RM
    Last edited by vikpaw; 27th January 2009 at 11:53 PM.

Thank Post
    I get a small TLR equivalent this year for managing the implementation of our VLE. I worked on it most of last year and got nothing extra for that.

I guess I feel that I'm paid to whatever they ask (within reason) so if they want me to do VLE that's fine as long as they understand something else may not get done.