+ Post New Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Virtual Learning Platforms Thread, Setting up moodle - Dont know where to start in Technical; Hello My name is richard, i am a student in england. I have a project to do which involves setting ...

Thank Post

Question Setting up moodle - Dont know where to start

Hello

My name is richard, i am a student in england.

I have a project to do which involves setting up a vle to aid teaching. The problem is, i dont know properly where to start. I have looked on the moodle site and it all looks a little complicated for a first time user. I have a web hosting account on reg123 and i wish to use that. If someone on here can point me in the right direction to get my started, i will greatly appreciate it.

Cheers

Thank Post
    Thanked 1,032 Times in 812 Posts
    Hi Richard,
    I think you should start by setting up a virtual server.
    your best bet would be to host it on your current computer to begin with, then worry about transferring your setup to a live system later.

The easiest way to set up moodle is to install Ubuntu
    Download Ubuntu | Ubuntu

once you have installed ubuntu, you can then just select moodle from the synaptic package manager, and this will automatically install moodle and all the other programs that you need. You can then log in by pointing your browser to http://localhost

Once you've configured your installation it is fairly easy to move all the config files over to a live virtual server.

Thank Post
    Cheers, im with you at the moment. I havnt set up anything as extensive as this at the moment so to me its a bit of a learning curve. To do this, do i need to be on an actual server (windows server 200 or 2003) or can i just do it on my current computer (windows XP)?

Thank Post
    You might want to start off with something like XAMPP

apache friends - xampp