+ Post New Thread
Virtual Learning Platforms Thread, Choosing a VLE in Technical; Hello, I hope I'm OK posting here. I'm a teacher, not an IT professional. I really need some advice about ...

Thank Post

Choosing a VLE

Hello,

I hope I'm OK posting here. I'm a teacher, not an IT professional. I really need some advice about which VLE to use.

I teach in a slightly different way though...

I teach pupils indivdually on the phone. For various reasons these children can't access school in a 'normal' way so at the moment they have daily 1:1 lessons on the phone with me. I then set them tasks to do for homework which normally involved using books, sheets etc from a pack of books, textbooks and resources that they have been sent.

What I'd like is to be able to put work for them on the VLE (probably saved as documents they can download, put their work/answers/essays/whatever on then save it on the VLE so I can access it, mark it and resave it so they can get feedback.

I don't know much about VLEs at all. I've had some expereince with Kaleidos which I liked but apart from that I don't know anything! Someone has suggested Moodle but I think you need some IT know-how to manage this. I think you can do video calls on Moodle as well, so there's the potential that I'd be able to see my students during lessons which would be good!

So I'd appreciate any advice that you can offer on which VLE might suit my students and I the best! I'm not particularly tech-savvy but am willing to learn what I need to to make a VLE work for us!

Thank you

Thank Post
    What about google docs? A quick search found this:
    Using Google Docs for Collaborative Work - YouTube

Thank Post
    Blog Entries
    Something here

VLE

Thank Post
    Most VLE's will cost 's and all of them require management.

As moodle is free it's the best choice VLE for small scale deployment but may not be the best solution.

Aty the basic level the idea of google docs may work,