+ Post New Thread
Virtual Learning Platforms Thread, Kaleidos in Technical; Hi all, I've heard down the grapevine that RM are set to discontinue their LP Kaleidos..... we haven't heard anything ...

Thank Post

Kaleidos

Hi all,

I've heard down the grapevine that RM are set to discontinue their LP Kaleidos..... we haven't heard anything official, but I wanted to see if anyone had any further information on this??

Someone from RM maybe??!!!

Thank Post
    We discontinued its use a while back now. miss my avatar mind

Thank Post
    I think many schools have!

But have you heard anything about RM pulling the plug on it?

Thank Post
    Hi rikcoz,

I’m a Product Manager in RM’s Digital Content and Platforms group which includes both RM Unify and the RM Learning Platform (formally Kaleidos). RM Unify is our focus, we strongly believe that making it simple for schools to access the best applications, tools, services and content that the web has offer, and that schools having the choice over which of these are right for them, will benefit everyone.

Learning Platforms were first envisioned when the Web was a very different place. Fantastic free services such as Microsoft Office 365 and Google Apps for Education didn’t exist, Educational content came in SCORM packs instead of online services such as Ted-Ed, YouTube for Schools, or Oxford Owl, and there wasn’t innovative online tools from the likes of J2e, Classroom Monitor or Pupil Reward Points.

We don’t think that schools will want to use traditional Learning Platforms (not just ours) in an environment where something as flexible and cost effective as RM Unify (and all the great Apps that sit within it) exists. We believe this is the future and the feedback from schools since the launch of RM Unify at BETT has been incredible - we now have over 4,000 schools signed up to RM Unify in the UK.