+ Post New Thread
Thin Client and Virtual Machines Thread, ISCSI Switching - Transmitted Paused Frames in Technical; I'm no ISCSI expert having mainly worked with Fiber Channel. Today I'm looking through some performance issues with a Dot ...

Thank Post
    Thanked 1,135 Times in 1,031 Posts

ISCSI Switching - Transmitted Paused Frames

I'm no ISCSI expert having mainly worked with Fiber Channel.

Today I'm looking through some performance issues with a Dot Hill San and VM's hanging for a couple of seconds every now and then. One of the things I have noticed is there is some Transmitted Pause Frames on the ISCSI Switching (dedicated HP 1810-24G - Jumbo Frames Enabled).

Its not a huge amounts of packets considering the numbers of transmitted but I'm not sure if its a factor?

Ports 1-4 are trunked to a seperate switch which is seeing pretty similar numbers

Are these switches struggling to process the traffic?

network paused frames.png

Thank Post
    Thanked 2,695 Times in 2,285 Posts
    Blog Entries
    Looks like the answer is yes, it may not be the packet numbers but jumbo frames choking the buffers out:
    http://packetpushers.net/flow-contro...mance-effects/
    http://kb.vmware.com/selfservice/mic...rnalId=1013413

3. Thanks to SYNACK from:

glennda (23rd July 2012)

Thank Post
    Quote Originally Posted by SYNACK View Post
    Looks like the answer is yes, it may not be the packet numbers but jumbo frames choking the buffers out:
    http://packetpushers.net/flow-contro...mance-effects/
    VMware KB: Configuring Flow Control on ESX and ESXi
    Thanks Synack - First link isn't working but will look later and read through the VMware (they are having issues with DDOS according to Status Page.)

Thank Post
    Any particular reason for the jumbo frames? I never found it made much difference with 1Gb iSCSI. The 1810 really is a low end switch, even if it is all Gb and fanless.

Thank Post
    Quote Originally Posted by DMcCoy View Post