+ Post New Thread
Thin Client and Virtual Machines Thread, Alternatives to Citrix? in Technical; Hi guys! I am fairly new to the world of desktop virtualization. And I have a question some of you ...

Thank Post

Smile Alternatives to Citrix?

Hi guys!

I am fairly new to the world of desktop virtualization. And I have a question some of you may find funny due to its noobish nature. I am also new here, so if I missed anything or did something against the norms of this forum, I apologize in advance.

First, I will explain the process:

My client has a server that holds X number of images (.TIFF files). Multiple computers access that server via Citrix to work on those image files.

The extent of the 'work' mentioned only includes:
    1. Labeling - by inserting a line of text on the image, like a watermark of sort.
    2. Validation - the image is a scanned copy of documents. Image quality is not that important, as long as it is readable.

The Fineprint:
    1. Server is located on a different continent.
    2. As a security measure, image files cannot be downloaded, thus the need to access the server via Citrix. All applications needed to work on the images are also published/virtualized from there.
    3. There is no minimum screen resolution requirement to view the images as long as it is readable.
    4. Connection to the client is via MPLS/IPBB (40Mbps).

Some Notes:
    1. Version of Citrix being used TBD.
    2. Assuming they are using v4.5 or later, and SpeedScreen is already enabled (well, it is enabled by default). lol
    3. Other image compression tools were already used.

THE QUESTION(S):

Is Citrix the best tool for this job? What are my alternatives/options given this kind of task?

The client finds the image rendering too slow and cumbersome, even with the image compression activated. From what I have read, Citrix employs lossy compression while VMWare, lossless.