+ Post New Thread
Thin Client and Virtual Machines Thread, Thin clients for a complete beginner in Technical; Hi I need some serious help as I have no idea and need to learn!!! I have windows 7 home ...

Thank Post

Thin clients for a complete beginner

Hi

I need some serious help as I have no idea and need to learn!!!

I have windows 7 home premium on an unused desktop (4gb RAM, 300gb HDD)

I want to run 5 thin clients off the machine if possible. (Using the most economical software available)

First I need to get them to network boot, (I have a LAN switch)

Once I have done that I need them to be able to run a contact manager, spreadsheet and word and possibly internet and nothing else.

I know I am asking a lot so any help appreciated, or advice on where I could find someone patient enough to talk me through it (I dont mind paying the consult) but as an English speaker in a non english speaking country I need someone who can help with this in English.

Cheers

Thank Post
    Hi,

I do not think that you can legally use Windows 7 home premium as a host pc – and I think it will only support one concurrent connection anyway. I think you would have to use Server 2008 R2 and set it up as a terminal server. I believe that 2X (see 2x.com) produce a pxe boot package that you can use, to pxe boot to the terminal server called ThinClientServer.

We used to use the 2X solution as a way of getting a few more years out of old laptops.

Hope this helps

Thank Post
    you could run edubuntu in virtualbox on the host machine. This comes with the linux terminal server project built in.

You'd then pxe boot the clients and would get a full linux desktop on each with internet, open office and other goodies

Thank Post
    Quote Originally Posted by MadridBill View Post
    I want to run 5 thin clients off the machine if possible. (Using the most economical software available)