+ Post New Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Thin Client and Virtual Machines Thread, Thin Client Advice in Technical; Hi guys, I'm looking at thin clients at the moment, as a possible solution for a department (so looking at ...

Thank Post

Thin Client Advice

Hi guys,

I'm looking at thin clients at the moment, as a possible solution for a department (so looking at about 30 pcs). Just have a few questions as i've no experience of thin clients and need to feed back to ass. head.

My understanding is that thin client boots in to Windows CE then creates terminal services session to server (or network boots via PXE into term services). Is this correct? Does the user have to create the terminal services connection themselves or is it automatic?

Obviously the demand on the server will be quite big, especially if 30 users all logged on and ran MS office, what sort of spec server should run that without too many problems? Are there many issues with bandwidth? or would you suggest storing the server nearby, plugged into same switch.

What licensing issues arise? For example if i install Office 2003 on the server, would i need one license? or would i need licenses for all the sessions?

Thanks in advance!

Thank Post

Re: Thin Client Advice

* You set the session up on your terminals so they just have to click and logon.

* You dont have to get window CE ones as their are linux based ones which are virtually the same.

* You will still need a licence for each end machine or session.

* Bandwidth shouldnt be an issue as long as you have a decent backbone. It doesnt use up as much bandwidth as you would imagine as all ti is sending is screen refreshes and keyboard/mouse updates.

* For spec RAM is more important than anything. Look for Dual Processors and 3 gig + ram will be good enough for 30 users so Ric tells me.

Anymore questions your best asking Ric_ he will happily chat over the phone to you.

Thank Post
    Blog Entries