+ Post New Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 24
Thin Client and Virtual Machines Thread, The hp t5135 in Technical; I have a couple of hp t5135 clients which were purchased a year ago to use up some money, and ...
  1. #1

    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    The Console
    Posts
    236
    Thank Post
    22
    Thanked 29 Times in 23 Posts
    Rep Power
    23

    The hp t5135

    I have a couple of hp t5135 clients which were purchased a year ago to use up some money, and to test out thin client boxes. From what I understand, there was some sort of management software for these (Altaris?) but the company has been taken over, and I can't track this down. As I say, I only have two so this isn't a big problem but would be nice to have.

    I've set one up to run a full screen ICA connection to our Citrix XenApp farm, but even though this is set to full screen, it still shows the HP client's tool bar along the bottom of the screen! Is there a way to make my Citrix session take precedence over this?

    My aim is to whack these in to a couple of staff offices to see how they react to them, but I need them to look as close to a "real computer" as possible - something that having Windows with a HP toolbar over the top ruins!

    Thanks.

  2. #2

    Ric_'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    7,601
    Thank Post
    110
    Thanked 771 Times in 599 Posts
    Rep Power
    183
    The t5135 is truly aweful. Do NOT upgrade the firmware to the newer versions with the 'Invent' splash screen (rather than the dandylion) as these versions seem to love falling over!

    If set to full screen mode and you don't have seamless window mode enabled, you should not see any of the terminal's GUI when your ICA connection is alive.

  3. #3
    Butuz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Wales, UK
    Posts
    1,579
    Thank Post
    211
    Thanked 220 Times in 176 Posts
    Rep Power
    63
    Ew got 100 t5135 and yes Ric is right, they suck.

    Butuz

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    270
    Thank Post
    14
    Thanked 44 Times in 35 Posts
    Rep Power
    22
    We've got loads of T5135s and they have been great.. that said they have had their default OS wiped off the flash and replaced with 2x TCS OS

  5. #5
    OllieC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Derby/Birmingham
    Posts
    187
    Thank Post
    17
    Thanked 16 Times in 10 Posts
    Rep Power
    14
    Didn't Alteris get bought out by Symantec?

  6. #6

    synaesthesia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Northamptonshire
    Posts
    6,513
    Thank Post
    627
    Thanked 1,173 Times in 900 Posts
    Blog Entries
    15
    Rep Power
    524
    Yes, they did :|

  7. #7
    cookie_monster's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Derbyshire
    Posts
    4,217
    Thank Post
    394
    Thanked 278 Times in 239 Posts
    Rep Power
    75
    I think there's a new free tool for managing HP thin clients, so it's probably based on Altiris then.

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    The Console
    Posts
    236
    Thank Post
    22
    Thanked 29 Times in 23 Posts
    Rep Power
    23
    If anyone knows where to find this free tool then please let me know! I've been on the Symmantec site previously and no joy.

    Our aim would be to make these boot (faster) in to a full-screen Citrix session...

  9. #9
    cookie_monster's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Derbyshire
    Posts
    4,217
    Thank Post
    394
    Thanked 278 Times in 239 Posts
    Rep Power
    75
    I think this is it I haven't had chance to look at it yet.

    https://h20392.www2.hp.com/portal/sw...tNumber=HPDM38

  10. #10

    Ric_'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    7,601
    Thank Post
    110
    Thanked 771 Times in 599 Posts
    Rep Power
    183
    @iSteve: The Altiris tool doesn't work with the t5135 - just one of the reasons that they suck so much! The most stable software revison I have found is Version: S1ST0031 Rev. a. You can grab this from here.

  11. #11
    cookie_monster's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Derbyshire
    Posts
    4,217
    Thank Post
    394
    Thanked 278 Times in 239 Posts
    Rep Power
    75
    Ric_ The HP Device Manager Free Download lists it as a supported device have you tried that?

  12. #12

    Ric_'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    7,601
    Thank Post
    110
    Thanked 771 Times in 599 Posts
    Rep Power
    183
    Quote Originally Posted by cookie_monster View Post
    Ric_ The HP Device Manager Free Download lists it as a supported device have you tried that?
    Downloading now (but I don't hold out much hope for it... what with the only reliable software seeming to be from 2 years ago )

  13. #13
    cookie_monster's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Derbyshire
    Posts
    4,217
    Thank Post
    394
    Thanked 278 Times in 239 Posts
    Rep Power
    75
    Is the problem with the HP Thinstate software then?

  14. #14

    Ric_'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    7,601
    Thank Post
    110
    Thanked 771 Times in 599 Posts
    Rep Power
    183
    Quote Originally Posted by cookie_monster View Post
    Is the problem with the HP Thinstate software then?
    IMHO... yes.

    I've installed the HPDM software and it is currently running through a discovery - I have a massive subnet.

  15. #15
    cookie_monster's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Derbyshire
    Posts
    4,217
    Thank Post
    394
    Thanked 278 Times in 239 Posts
    Rep Power
    75
    How is the HPDM software working _Ric? Any good?



SHARE:
+ Post New Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. HP T5135 to Presentation 4.5..always getting a desktop..help!
    By spazmanian in forum Thin Client and Virtual Machines
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 13th February 2009, 10:28 AM
  2. HP Compaq t5135
    By cookie_monster in forum Thin Client and Virtual Machines
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: 16th September 2008, 09:49 AM
  3. USB Drives on HP t5135 and Citrix
    By Geoff in forum Thin Client and Virtual Machines
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 19th March 2008, 02:01 PM
  4. Printing from HP T5135 Thin Clients
    By Lee_K_81 in forum Thin Client and Virtual Machines
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 25th January 2008, 10:02 PM
  5. HP t5135 published application server settings?
    By Geoff in forum Thin Client and Virtual Machines
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 28th September 2007, 09:14 AM

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •