+ Post New Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Thin Client and Virtual Machines Thread, What programs do you run on thin clients? in Technical; I have a thin client network comprising of 26 Wyse winterm clients and a big beefy server runnig windows 2003 ...
    Thank Post

What programs do you run on thin clients?

I have a thin client network comprising of 26 Wyse winterm clients and a big beefy server runnig windows 2003 server in terminal services mode. Now here's the main question, what programs can I run on the thin clients? What sort of programs do you guy's run on these things. I have no experience with these thin clients so I don't know what will run and what won't.

I do know that microsoft office works ok, but I don't know what else will.

Also, where are the thin clients located, we have 2 ICT suites that both have 26 desktops in them, the LRC has 30 P4 3Ghz desktops in and the graphics and resistant materials rooms both have a full compliment of desktops. I have no idea where these things can go.

Will Parsql run on these, does anyone use Pars on thin clients?

Thank Post
    Thanked 1,032 Times in 812 Posts

Re: What programs do you run on thin clients?

we run pretty much everything on the thin clients.
    Only problems we find are old 16bit apps and heavy media rich apps

Thank Post
    Blog Entries

We're going to be deploying a small TC network in our maths department. It is going to have a whole load of maths software on it like Derive, Autograph, GSP etc.

Thank Post

We mainly run MS Office although they work suprizing well with video (citrix this is). We also enabled the web client so students can access the apps from home which is really popular.

Thank Post

Thin Clients are perfect for web browsing and basic 'Office' type stuff.

Back where I come from in the commercial world, they're typically used for 'single application' clients. EG Call Centres where the user only ever has one/two programs running at anyone time.