+ Post New Thread
Thin Client and Virtual Machines Thread, VMWare setup in Technical; I'm looking at virtualising about 5 or 6 servers on a VMware setup next year. My main question here is ...
    Thank Post

VMWare setup

I'm looking at virtualising about 5 or 6 servers on a VMware setup next year. My main question here is what sort of setup should i be looking for? I have heard a few of you talk about ESXi and a SAN, but I have no experience in either so i don't know what would be the best solution for us.

What i want to do is run 5 or 6 servers to begin with, and maybe look at running more later on down the line.

What solutions do you use and what sort of costs am i going to be looking at? Should i go with a good make for all my kit like HP, Dell etc, or will i be able to use openfiller(which is something i've heard of but never used).

How does a SAN work? is it a server with lots of hard drives in it? or is it multiple computers all brought together using one computer running something like openfiller?

Any help on this would be great, the sooner i get the hang of virtualisation the better.

Thank Post
    Thanked 1,032 Times in 812 Posts
    SAN is really just a bunch of disks. There is no SAN server, any server can access the SAN at quote a low level. SAN is useful in virtualisation because it makes it easy to switch physical hardware when all the files in one place, SAN is faster because it has few overheads. With a NAS fileserver, its usually takes quite a while to move files to a new server, but with all the data held on a SAN's LUN (like a partition) just point your new server at the LUN and the files appear as before. No more moving data between servers, all the data is in one place. If you need more space, add more disks and expand the LUN.

3. Thanks to CyberNerd from:

dezt (26th October 2008)

Thank Post
    Blog Entries