+ Post New Thread
Thin Client and Virtual Machines Thread, Virtualise Ubuntu, Dans Guardian and Xp in Technical; Hi All, Hope this is the right forum to ask this in if not can a mod move it to ...

Thank Post

Virtualise Ubuntu, Dans Guardian and Xp

Hi All,

Hope this is the right forum to ask this in if not can a mod move it to somewhere appropriate thanks.

I am trying to reduce the clutter of PCS in our Centre. The old workstation I was using for our content filtering loaded with Ubuntu Server and Dans Guardian had just died the death. I have a similar machine that is also running xp simply to syncronise with our weather station and upload results to the website that feels like its on its last legs.
    I am a total noob with Virtualisation but have this idea that I could use an old Fujitsu Celsius (2.8 P4 Hyper threaded, 1gb Ram, 140gb UATA HD) server I have lying around to run both operations.

My head is exploding with all of the VM options and I would like someone with more experience to point me in the right direction if possible please.These are the options I have come up with.

1/Install Ubuntu with Dans Guardian as the base OS and then run kvm with XP as the VM on it for the weather station ?

2/ Install Xp as the base OS running VMware ( which edition?) with Ubuntu and Dansguardian on the VM.

3/ Run a very lite version of linux with both dansguardian and xp as VMs?

Its important that which ever way I do this that if we get a powercut (and we do a lot here) when the machine switches on it reboots and all of the Vms fire up ready to carry on.

I would like also to do this a cheap as possible.

Any help as always will be gratefully received

Shorty

Thank Post
    Thanked 1,032 Times in 812 Posts
    I could use an old Fujitsu Celsius (2.8 P4 Hyper threaded, 1gb Ram, 140gb UATA HD) server I have lying around to run both operations.
    to use KVM (or xen with windows guest) you need a processor that is 'capable' of virtualisation (intel VT).