+ Post New Thread
Thin Client and Virtual Machines Thread, A question about thin clients please - would they be benefit our primary school? in Technical; Hey guys, firstly thank you for such an amazing forum, I am a new IT technician and I have learnt ...

Thank Post

Question A question about thin clients please - would they be benefit our primary school?

Hey guys, firstly thank you for such an amazing forum, I am a new IT technician and I have learnt so much over the last couple of months from what I have read on here. I am really grateful.

The school I work at is to purchase 15 desktops to replace staff machines and 25 laptops. We are using Windows Server 2008 on our curriculum server. Including these machines, we could have anything up to 100 desktops and laptops connected to our network at any time (including an IT suite of 30 machines). The existing computers are all all thick clients.

I have only recently found out about thin clients. I was wondering if anyone would be kind enough to offer their opinions on whether you think it they would benefit us or if it would be best to stick to normal thick clients unless we were upgrading the whole network and most of the computers?

My apologies for the beginner question but is possible to add a server on our network specifically to provide the computing power and software for the thin clients and still have our curriculum server controlling the whole network? Or could we have these thin clients actually utilising a part of the existing curriculum server (for their computing power and software) as well as maintaining the existing server roles? - I assume (without having our curriculum servers specification to hand) our existing server wouldn't be powerful enough to run all of these tasks if it even was possible.