+ Post New Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Thin Client and Virtual Machines Thread, General Advice - is it worth it for us? in Technical; ...

Thank Post

General Advice - is it worth it for us?

Hi,

I work in a school with 400 boys and about 50 staff. Currently we have in total about 130 computers - 40 laptops and the rest desktops. We're looking to virtualise the desktops so staff will be able to see their school desktop from home (and the other usual advantages). We've been quoted about £70k to get everything set up (2 big servers, software licensing and about 25 days of consultancy to include end user application testing with the new virtual environment). We're coming up next year for an ICT refresh when we'd normally buy additional desktops and retire some of the others (we have this planned for every 4 years with a budget of approx £40k). Do you think that it will be worth going down the virtual route and spend the money we would have put on the desktops to virtualising everything instead in the undestanding that over the longer term there will be a slight cost saving? I work part time here as the technician and the computers have so far been fairly reliable so people don't tend to be without computers ever for more than an hour which has happened maybe 3-4 times in the last 4 years.

Any advice welcome,

Richard

Thank Post
    .... you could also consider using Citrix or Microsoft's terminal services (RDS) - this would still give users access to their desktop from home and be a lot cheaper/easier to setup.

Thank Post
    what about making sure everything is available by a web browser instead. then no need for VDI at all.

Thank Post
    Thanked 1,032 Times in 812 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by rbjames View Post
    We've been quoted about £70k to get everything set up (2 big servers, software licensing and about 25 days of consultancy to include end user application testing with the new virtual environment).
    Thats insane.
    Speak to these guys: