+ Post New Thread
Scripts Thread, Powershell help needed with ForEach-Object cmdlet in Coding and Web Development; I'm a newbie to PS and am really enjoying it but still wrapping my head around alot of the commands ...

Thank Post

Powershell help needed with ForEach-Object cmdlet

I'm a newbie to PS and am really enjoying it but still wrapping my head around alot of the commands and how to use them. I have an issue which I'm hoping someone on this forum will be able to assist me with getting working.

My task at hand is as follows:
    - I have daily log files in csv format that contain all of a user's daily logins.
    - I have created a file containing only the date and the user id as shown below.
    - What I need to do is get each user's last\most recent logon.

DATE USER
    Sat Dec 25 00:41:59 EST 2010 user1
    Sat Dec 25 00:41:58 EST 2010 user1
    Fri Dec 24 17:54:13 EST 2010 user8
    Fri Dec 24 17:54:12 EST 2010 user8
    Fri Dec 24 17:54:08 EST 2010 user8
    Fri Dec 24 17:52:56 EST 2010 user8
    Fri Dec 24 17:52:46 EST 2010 user8
    Fri Dec 24 17:52:39 EST 2010 user8
    Fri Dec 24 17:42:01 EST 2010 user8
    Fri Dec 24 17:41:36 EST 2010 user8
    Fri Dec 24 17:36:16 EST 2010 user8
    Fri Dec 24 17:35:18 EST 2010 user2
    Fri Dec 24 17:33:51 EST 2010 user2

- What I have so far after creating the csv file containing only the rows I wanted, namely date and user

- I used: $Users = Import-Csv "./logfile.csv" | sort-object User, Date to sort the file by user and then date.

- The next step is where I'm unsure how to proceed, I assume I need to perform something along the following lines:

| Foreach-Object ($user in $users) {determine each users latest login} I only want the one line for each user (bolded line), I just can't figure out how to do that, any help would be very greatly appreciated! Hope that makes sense.

S
    Last edited by Shark; 26th October 2011 at 04:48 AM.

Thank Post