+ Post New Thread
Scripts Thread, Copy File to folder by date in Coding and Web Development; ok, i am a total noobie for the forums..so please be gentle =) what i am trying to accomplish is ...

Thank Post

Copy File to folder by date

ok, i am a total noobie for the forums..so please be gentle =)

what i am trying to accomplish is this...
    i want to write a simple batch file that copies a file located- c:\example.doc to any folder that has the creation date of 06/14/2010 in c:\documents and settings\all users\application data\microsoft\

i would just use the directory name instead of doing it by date created - but im trying to do this on 50+ computers and the directory name is never the same.
    the directory i am wanting to copy this file to is named differently on every computer.

im sure this is easy for you guys...but im just completely lost on this one. =(

Thank Post
    Blog Entries
    Not quite sure what you're trying to do but I think this might get you started.

Code:
    sRoot="c:\documents and settings\all users\application data\microsoft\"
    sFile="c:\example.doc"
    sCheckDate="2010-06-14"

set oFSO=createobject("scripting.filesystemobject")
    set oFolder=ofso.getfolder(sRoot)
    for each oSubFolder in oFolder.subfolders
      sDate=ShowDate(oSubFolder.datecreated)
      if sDate=sCheckDate then
        ofso.copyfile sFile,sRoot & oSubFolder.name & "\"
        exit for
      end if
    next

Function ShowDate(d)
      ShowDate=year(d)& "-" & right("0" & month(d),2) & "-" & right("0" & day(d),2)
    end function

Thank Post
    Quote Originally Posted by srochford View Post
    Not quite sure what you're trying to do but I think this might get you started.

Code:
    sRoot="c:\documents and settings\all users\application data\microsoft\"
    sFile="c:\example.doc"
    sCheckDate="2010-06-14"

for each oSubFolder in oFolder.subfolders
      sDate=ShowDate(oSubFolder.datecreated)
      if sDate=sCheckDate then