+ Post New Thread
School ICT Policies Thread, ICT report to schools in School Administration; Hi there. I am a student at University, and have an assignment that i was hoping some of you experienced ...

Thank Post

ICT report to schools

Hi there.
    I am a student at University, and have an assignment that i was hoping some of you experienced in this field could help me. I have got to prepare a report investigating a schools provision for ICT and advise this make believe school of its strengths and weaknesses and make recommendations for its improvement and development. What kind of things should I put in there? I have looked at many schools ICT policies, and OfSTED reports, but am still stuck!!!

Thanks

Thank Post
    It's a slightly baffling brief tbh. Surely if you're going into a school to investigate their provision (hypothetically speaking) you would use the information you had gathered to form the basis of your recommendations?! Are you supposed to be making up a set of fictional problems that the school has as well? Do a google search for the "BECTA Self Review Framework" if you want BECTA's advice on how a school should be focussing its efforts. It's done in a questionnaire format and gives you advice at the end.

If you are just supposed to be giving general guidance on how schools should deliver their ICT provision, the current govt view is that it should all be outsourced and schools shouldn't worry their pretty little heads about it.

Thank Post
    Thanked 2,159 Times in 1,597 Posts
    I'm not sure how you can do this without actually visiting one or more schools and talking to their NMs.. whereabouts in the country are you?

A few phone calls may be in order to schools local to you.

Thank Post
    Does your brief state what kind or type of school? There would perhaps be a marked difference between sectors i.e. between Primary and Secondary. Perhaps different again between Secondary and Tertiary.