+ Post New Thread
Recommended Suppliers Thread, Stone - integrating into an RM network? in Purchasing and Trading; Hello I find myself in an interesting position. I am an ex-school network manager. Up until I left 7 years ...

Thank Post

Stone - integrating into an RM network?

Hello

I find myself in an interesting position.

I am an ex-school network manager. Up until I left 7 years ago, I ran an RM Connect system.

When I arrived at the school, they used exclusively RM kit, but during my time there we opted for different hardware suppliers for the clients, maintaining the RM back end.

I am now governor at my kids' school (a primary). They use a Connect network too, although things have moved on quite a bit from v2.4 . . . . .

Perhaps unsurprisingly I am the link governor for ICT, and have been asked to review a quote for 20 new PC's.

It's what I suspect is still the usual story - as the school has only ever used RM kit, they went to RM for the quote and sought no alternatives.

One of my colleagues on the governing body has links with a secondary school that buys Stone kit, and is in favour of sourcing the new PC's from Stone as they will likely be cheaper.

The thing that concerns me is the management - while I would of course like to go with the cheapest supplier (which I believe is unlikely to be RM), the school has only 3 hours of technician time per week, so support is going to be an issue. I recall from my own network management days that there was quite some work to be done to integrate other vendors' kit with the RM system, and while I'd happily recommend doing so if the IT support was full time, I am concerned that with such sparse cover that support issues involved would cause issues for the teaching staff.

I was wondering if anyone had any comments/recommendations on this they would be prepared to share.

Thank Post

Re: Stone - integrating into an RM network?