+ Post New Thread
Office Software Thread, MS Access in Technical; Evening all, This is where I turn from techy to user. I have a scenario where I have to create ...
    Thank Post

MS Access

Evening all,

This is where I turn from techy to user. I have a scenario where I have to create a database using MS Access. I know, there are better options, however this is dicated by the scenario I have been given for a course which I am studying.

Given my complete lack of experience with MS Access as a development tool and user, can anyone suggest any tips on getting to know access?

I can normally get my head around this kinda stuff, afterall, it's part of the job description, but this seems to have me beat. It could also be working 42+ hours per week and studying part time which may have hindered me slightly also!

I have a number of text books on Access, however when ever I go to solve a problem, they never seem to have answer, or perhaps I'm askign the wrong question!

Cheers,

Thank Post
    Blog Entries
    working through a step by step tutorial to completion will be the best way. IT will introduce you to tables, relationships, and then creating queries and reports from the data. Our Year 4s are starting to use access to make up mini databases on dinosours. 3 Tables, linked, with queries and reports etc

Thank Post
    Quote Originally Posted by RabbieBurns View Post
    working through a step by step tutorial to completion will be the best way. IT will introduce you to tables, relationships, and then creating queries and reports from the data. Our Year 4s are starting to use access to make up mini databases on dinosours. 3 Tables, linked, with queries and reports etc
    Yeah, I have been thinking of that,kept putting it off. Probably the only way of course. Maybe I'll come and join your year 4 class!!!

Thank Post
    'I have a scenario where I have to create a database using MS Access'

Is this part of the problem definition - you are mandated to use MS Access??