+ Post New Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Office Software Thread, Need Help With Corrupted Documents Please in Technical; Hi All, I am a new ICT Technician i work for a school. I get plenty of students coming to ...

Thank Post

Need Help With Corrupted Documents Please

Hi All,

I am a new ICT Technician i work for a school. I get plenty of students coming to me to recover Microsoft word documents that have been corrupted and damaged (you get a MS Word error message when you try to open the document) i use the Microsoft Word Open and Repair feature and 40% of the time this works. Can someone please tell me a software which i can download or buy to help me recover the documents which i cannot recover using Open and Repair feature on MS Word.

Than You In Advance!

Regards

James

Thank Post
    Thanked 2,422 Times in 1,699 Posts
    A google search throws up a lot of products that will do what you want.
    I know someone who thinks quite highly of this:
    Word repair Free Download

3. Thanks to witch from:

james_richards (4th February 2009)

Thank Post
    Thank You Witch for the software link i really appreciate it. I did try google search but it brings up too many junk softwares which do not work. Once again Thank you for your time and help.

Thank Post
    Thanked 1,056 Times in 977 Posts
    you can either save it as or rename it as a html file and then extract what you can from that or you can use open office ( OpenOffice.org - The Free and Open Productivity Suite ) as that is really good at recovering word documents.

Its an open source version of microsoft office and a lot better imo.

How can I recover a corrupt document or template - and why did it become corrupt?

6. 2 Thanks to mac_shinobi:

AngryTechnician (5th February 2009), james_richards (4th February 2009)

Thank Post
    Thank You mac_shinobi that is a good idea because i have got Open Office installed on my machine.

Thank Post