+ Post New Thread
Office Software Thread, Office 365 on iPads - Logging out in Technical; Hello there, I'm an IT Technician in a fairly large school within Yorkshire UK, and have been keeping an eye ...

Thank Post

Office 365 on iPads - Logging out

Hello there, I'm an IT Technician in a fairly large school within Yorkshire UK, and have been keeping an eye on the office 365 suite which was recently released on iPads. I'm pushing the software down with Configurator, and the office licenses we have allow us to login to the applications, unlocking the edit and create functionality within, however I've a concern with security.

The iPads are shared within the school, and bookable from two trolleys for teachers to use in their lessons. To use the applications the students would need to sign in with their accounts, which in itself is fine, however as these are shared iPads, if any student forgot to log out after they had finished with the device, the next user would be able to view, edit and delete any files on the previous users account. Now while most of our students would be sensible and log the previous user out before logging themselves in, it can be guaranteed that at some point someone will cross the line and begin sabotaging others work.

My question is whether anybody on here has installed the software on these devices in a similar manner and has found a solution to this. Something like a timed auto logout would be ideal, however I can't find any such functionality within the applications for this.

I've not yet pushed the application to the shared iPads, and have only tested it locally on our office machines.

Thank you for your time, it is much appreciated,
    Tester.

Thank Post
    Thanked 1,602 Times in 1,278 Posts
    The problem is the iPad is a consumer device, designed for 1:1 use rather than shared use.