+ Post New Thread
O/S Deployment Thread, FOG PXE Boot Problem in Technical; Hello all, I am new to the FOG imaging platform and want to learn how to use it. I have ...

Thank Post

FOG PXE Boot Problem

Hello all,

I am new to the FOG imaging platform and want to learn how to use it. I have set up my FOG Server on an Ubuntu computer. Using VirtualBox I have created two other Ubuntu virtual machines (on the same computer) which are supposed to use PXE to boot to the FOG server.

This worked perfectly a few days ago. The VMs PXE-booted just fine, allowing me to register them with the FOG Server. But I have since rebooted the FOG Server, and this does not work anymore. The VMs try to PXE-boot, but this fails and then they boot from their virtual hard disks. This issue happened earlier. To fix that I uninstalled and reinstalled FOG, thinking it was not related to rebooting.

Why would simply restarting the computer cause this problem? How can I get PXE to work again and how can I prevent a reboot from crashing FOG?

Thanks a ton,
    MrC921

Thank Post
    Thanked 1,032 Times in 812 Posts
    is the fog service actually starting?

update-rc.d(8)

Thank Post
    The FOG specific services are for task scheduling, image replication and multicast deployment. You won't actually need those to be running to get a machine to display the PXE menu, only the TFTP related stuff needs to be running. I think the problem is more likely to be with how you are running your DHCP server and how your network is configured in Virtual Box. If you look at the logs on your DHCP server, can you see that DHCP requests are being received?